We’re on an organizational tear this week. Getting rid of boxes, sorting toys, clothes, books, art supplies, hanging hooks and shelves. I actually organized my pile of sewing stuff. I told B last night: we haven’t been this organized since we were married. It feels good. Things get done when you’re organized. I’ll post pics of the results when we’re through.

Oh, and I found the best organizer/planner for a stay-at-home-mom. If I had made my own, it would have looked exactly like this. I only wish I had found it sooner. Check out that perforated weekly grocery list. Genius.

In other news, we’re night-weaning Chicken this week. I know what you’re thinking: “Already?!?” After 17 months of naps, not nights of sleep, I’m ready. Monkey is sleeping in the guest room so that her sleep isn’t disturbed. B is the hero who goes in and gets cussed out for not having the appropriate equipment. Last night, I went to bed at 11 and didn’t hear a thing until 7:30 this morning. It was the strangest feeling… like I’d been in a coma. She actually slept all night. Fingers crossed that tonight will be the same. We’ll have to throw a party.

More details on my self-education plan:

Lingua Latina will be my guide for learning Latin. See that “Frequently Bought Together” trio? That’s what I got. It’s actually an immersion approach to learning Latin. Familia Romana is a story of a (surprise) Roman family told in Latin. It slowly introduces the student to vocab and grammar. A College Companion explains what you’re learning in English, which is particularly helpful for people who, like me, are attempting to teach themselves. Then, there’s an exercise book.

Why Latin, you ask? My understanding is that Latin gives you a thorough understanding of the structure of a language (grammar), boosts vocabulary, and teaches you to more precisely express meaning in words. Because I want to become a clearer thinker and communicator, this seems like a good place to start. Plus, it will make it easier for me to teach my kids Latin, when they’re ready for it.

I’m going to use this copy book to work on my cursive. It’s an extra bonus that the copy work is in Latin.

I’m using this book as a guide for my nature journaling.

And, I’m currently reading History of the Ancient World by Susan Wise Bauer to begin my history study. Since the next three books in her adult series are not currently available, I’ll probably just continue with her series for elementary students. The goal right now is not depth. I just want to have a big picture understanding of the progression of history, a context for everything else. Plus, I love Bauer’s approach to history.  B teases me because he frequently catches me laughing out loud.  Reading ancient history!

Speaking of Bauer, she’s my new hero in the homeschooling world. I recently devoured her book on a homeschool approach to classical education The Well-Trained Mind. I’m still a Charlotte Mason devotee (Mason herself was a classical interpreter, and The Well-Trained Mind is very easy to blend with Mason’s ideas), but I’ve grown tired of many of the CM followers (at least in the online world). Half seem to be translating CM’s philosophy into a post-modern wishy washy “delight-directed” approach, while the other half are, well, your stereotypical homeschoolers. I don’t have a problem with these folks, but I’m simply not one of them. I never will be. I feel much more at home with Bauer and her approach to education. Read about it in her article Dodging the Homeschool Stereotype.

My title is getting too long as the number of topics I cover in this post is increasing, so I will end here. Soon I will post more about what the girls and I are up to these days.

